life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

National Museum of the Philippines

3 Comments

Oh, a museum visit.

Paying a visit to the Philippine National Museum

Paying a visit to the Philippine National Museum

Wait, before you go and wave it off why not try to see it in a different light, other than a school field trip spot?

Have you ever been in a museum other than for the said reason? No? Then this can be the time to enjoy a trip to the museum and probably learn a thing or two.

All you have to do is express a slight interest in them.

Take a look, it will be worth your while.

Upon entry into the museum. This is the first painting that will greet you.

The Spoliarium

The Spoliarium

This is the Spoliarium (often misspelled Spolarium) is a painting by the Filipino artist Juan Luna. It took eight months to finish this award winning masterpiece on a greatly huge canvas depicting dying gladiators. This painting was submitted by Luna to the Exposición Nacional de Bellas Artes in 1884 in Madrid, where it garnered the first gold medal (out of three).

a closer look at the Spoliarium

a closer look at the Spoliarium

Its metal inscription

Spoliarium's metal label

Spoliarium’s metal label

look up the Spoliarium it has a great deal of story and history. And that is just the first!

Walking along I came across a lot of paintings, I will share to you those that caught my eye.

The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines by Carlos Modesto Villaluz Francisco or Botong

The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines by Carlos Modesto Villaluz Francisco or “Botong Francisco”

This is a series of paintings  by Carlos V. Francisco  or also known as Botong Francisco. He is known for his murals. These were specially commissioned for the entrance hall of the Philippine General Hospital in 1953. Declared a National Cultural Treasure, these extraordinary works were displayed on loan to the National Museum by the University of the Philippines for restoration and preservation.

These are oil-on-canvas panels, depicting the history and development of medicine in the country. ( pre-colonial period, the Spanish colonial period, the American Occupation era, and the modern era of the 1950s.)

Then to the next room.

Fish Forms by Ang Kiukok

Fish Forms by Ang Kiukok

This Painting was done by Ang Kiukok (洪救國), his style is really distinct. He merges  cubismsurrealism and expressionism. What makes him very interesting to me is because He studied art at University of Santo Tomas. (which is also my school!) and he has Chinese roots just like me!

The Origins by Jose Joya

The Origins by Jose Joya

Here is a abstract, impasto (paint is applied thickly so as the brush strokes are visible, to add texture and create depth), triptych (three panels) by Jose Joya.

Are you familiar with Vicente S. Manansala?

Here is one of His works. He was a Filipino cubist painter and illustrator.

Calesa by Vicente S. Manansala

Calesa by Vicente S. Manansala

He developed transparent cubism, wherein the “delicate tones, shapes, and patterns of figure and environment are masterfully superimposed”. In this artwork Calesa, He used watercolors as his artistic media.

If you live in the Philippines, I am sure you know our national hero Jose P. Rizal.

Jose Rizal- Portrait done by Felix Gonzales

Jose Rizal- Portrait done by Felix Gonzales

Did you know he is also a skilled artist?

Ermitaño-Terra cotta sculpture made by Jose

Ermitaño – Terra cotta sculpture made by Jose Rizal

here is another sculpture by Rizal

mother's revenge - a clay sculpture

mother’s revenge – a clay sculpture

Here is a short story behind this sculpture: Rizal was inspired to create the sculpture by an incident that occurred while he was exiled in Dapitan and set up a school, in 1894. Some of his students secretly went to Dapitan in a boat from Talisay and a puppy of Rizal’s dog Syria tried to follow them and was eaten by a crocodile. Rizal scolded the boys, telling them that if they had not gone to town without his permission the puppy would not have died and its mother would have been spared the sorrow of losing an offspring. He further stressed the moral of the incident by making a statuette showing the mother dog killing the crocodile, to avenge her lost puppy. He called this “The Mother’s Revenge.”

(source of this story: http://en.wikipilipinas.org/index.php?title=The_Mother’s_Revenge)

And here is a architectural drawing of our national hero.

View of Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin

View of Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin

Multi-talented huh? Can write, draw, sculpt, be a doctor, teacher and hero! Amazing!

let us now move along…

Feeding the Chickens by Simon Flores

Feeding the Chickens by Simon Flores

Rustic and earthy. Feeding the Chickens By Simon Flores. I love the simplicity of the scene.

Located in the next room was the sculptures. While I am not really fond of sculptures, I find this impeccable.

Virgin and Child by Isabelo Tampinco

Virgin and Child by Isabelo Tampinco

Isabelo Tampinco is a sculptor known for his woodcarvings for churches.  He makes Art Nouveau style woodcarvings. He is also a Chinese mestizo!  His  works are admired by Jose Rizal. 

Paying a closer look to the National Museum’s door handles.

I found out that they are by Napoleón Abueva.  (My friends, He is the “Father of Modern Philippine Sculpture”.)

Commissioned door handles by Napoleón Abueva

Commissioned door handles by Napoleón Abueva

Then went on to see the zoology division of the museum. It was dark and filled with animal skeletons.

Skeleton of a Sperm Whale

Skeleton of a Sperm Whale

Their main exhibit was this skeleton of a sperm whale. I find it weird that they are named that way… but, it is actually because sperm whales contain about 3 tons of  “spermaceti” oil (waxy liquid) in its head. This whale is the largest of the toothed whales.

Before the museum was a museum, It was the Congress of the Philippines. Look.

An old photo of what it used to be.

An old photo of what it used to be.

This is what it looks like now.

The old senate hall

The old senate hall

The museum building is actually very ornamented.

beautiful stairwell

beautiful stairwell

I have never given much thought to this old building, but I must say it is very rich in history.

and so, I proceed with another painting that I find very eye catching.

This is Sabel by Ben Cab (Benedicto Cabrera).

Sabel. Dynamic and brightly hued.

Sabel. Dynamic and brightly hued.

Here is another piece by Vicente Manansala, this time his artistic medium is oil.

Bayanihan by Vicente Manansala

Bayanihan by Vicente Manansala

Upstairs I found this window. I had to take this photo. This is the pre-spanish language of the Philippines.

Definitely Filipino

Baybayin-Definitely Filipino

The Baybayin. I was thought that these characters are called the Alibata, but that tag was incorrect. It is Baybayin which means “to spell”.

Then I walked along a lot of preserved and bottled fish/taxidermy animals, that i thought looks creepy, so I will spare you the sight and not post them here.

After the museum visit, I went to grab coffee, and a bite of cake at the nearby mall.

All were going well till I saw two dresses that I really wanted to have. And it is on sale.

What is a girl to do?! You guessed right. I got them both. Luckily they still have it in my size, or for the lack of better term I managed to squeeze myself into the dresses! lols.

a Botong Francisco dress

a Botong Francisco dress

The other is a red number.

Vicente Manansala dress

Vicente Manansala dress

How apt right?  I have wearable souvenirs of my museum trip.

I enjoyed going to the museum, it was a refreshing change (against my usual tendencies to go malling).

 

Give it a try, who knows you might also find it enjoyable.

 

NATIONAL MUSEUM OF THE PHILIPPINES

P. Burgos Drive, Rizal Park, Manila. Tuesdays-Sundays, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

 

*I paid 150php for entrance. All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are my own and based on my own experience. This is not a sponsored post, paid for this (from) my own pocket(s).

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

3 thoughts on “National Museum of the Philippines

  1. Pingback: Great Man theory: José Rizal, Superman | Love Chic

Leave a Reply

