life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

Melting Point

4 Comments

global warming  photo from the Fancy

Global Warming

As I write this, I feel delirious from the summer’s sweltering heat.

Philippines being a tropical country is hot enough, but every summer the heat goes for 33-36 degrees Celsius, that could rise up to 37 degrees Celsius depending on the weather. It is as if my brain is being fried, I feel hot and sticky one minute, and the other feeling like a chick being hatched in the incubator the heat is pushing me to sleep. I hate going outdoors because the heat can be too much. I also stay right in front of the electric fan or air conditioner the whole day to feel better but that causes the electricity bills to soar. Its either I stew in my own sweat or pay the electricity bill that is always outrageous every summer. And I feel lazy, I wont bother getting my ass up to exercise, because I hate being sweaty all the more when the weather is this hot! Plus, sweat mixed with bacteria is equivalent to clogged pores and clogged pores is equivalent to acne. I don’t want that so, yeah I will just get fat. Whatever.

Before, I used to take a bath a day and wash my face, and arms before I sleep, now I have been taking two baths everyday to cool myself. One in the morning and one in the evening, and that will also reflects on the water bill. *facepalm*

There is also a cause of concern on hydration. Before the norm was 8 glasses of water or 1.5 liters a day. The new normal is now 2.5 liters a day. What a difference.

I am used to drinking water in room temperature but now it just wont do. I need ice in my water to feel refreshed. I get a lot of juices whenever I go grocery shopping, and now going out across the street to buy carbonated drinks is a legitimate excuse to give to my mum even if it is 8:00 pm. We still use the computer sparingly, close to never watch tv, continue with our usual electric fan and air conditioning schedule yet my parents complain of all the heightened bills every summer.

My pet rabbits also feels the same, they are lethargic due to the heat. They drink and pee like no tomorrow just to cool themselves. I feel sorry for them, but what can I do? I can only just give them more watery fruits/veggies and more water. At times I place ice on their pet bottle, and mist their ears with water to help cool them a bit, it works but just for a while and its back to the uncomfortable heat again.

I can only wonder, how about others, how do they fare with the climate? I mean where I live is in the Tropics, what about those who live in the deserts? I can only imagine. Climate change is strongly felt year by year, and with the polar ice caps melting fast there is a looming possibility that the north and south pole will be ice free. Poor penguins and polar bears, they don’t stand a chance.

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

4 thoughts on “Melting Point

  1. I live in Singapore (for now) and I absolutely hate the heat and humidity. That is why I don’t stay here much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

