life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

cynicism

Leave a comment

Cynicism-is an attitude or state of mind characterized by a general distrust of others’ apparent motives or ambitions, or a general lack of faith or hope in the human race or in individuals with desires, hopes, opinions, or personal tastes that a cynic perceives as unrealistic or inappropriate, therefore deserving of ridicule or admonishment. It is a form of jaded negativity, and other times, realistic criticism or skepticism. The term originally derives from the ancient Greek philosophers called the Cynics who rejected all conventions, whether of religion, manners, housing, dress, or decency, advocating the pursuit of virtue in accordance with a simple and idealistic way of life. (meaning taken from wikipedia)

The thing that annoys me more then people who only call me when they need something…is the fake smile and conversation before they ask. I absolutely hate it.

See, today a lot of people are missing at work, not that its wrong but it is really a weird phenomenon that leaves the workplace in a difficult position. Usually I am asked/tasked/forced to cover for those who are absent/sick/on a vacation/insert whatever reason here, but I absolutely hate it due to the fact that they don’t even try to make things easier for you.

Game of Throne's Sansa Stark

Game of Throne’s Sansa Stark

I feel so helpless when the “higher” ups decides to pay me a visit on my desk with their cheery and commanding voice, that tells me “hey, insert-name-here is out so can you cover for him?” I have given up my Independence day ( and some other holidays) to cover for the absence of those people, on my regular days I skip/rush my afternoon break to help out,  and on my half day of work, you still want me to work whole day?

“Not today, I have somewhere to go.”   I answer.

Then I get half a minute of “because we lack people that is why we have to call on anyone who can fill in.” in a no more cheery/slightly annoyed/still commanding voice.  I fight the urge to talk back, and with dead malice, I just smile.

 

It pays to have willpower. That’s very important in this world, because if someone had talked/fought back they’d be dead.

 

“It’s a dog-eat-dog world, and I’m just a kitten.”-Jarod Kintzcism

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

