life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

rainy days

Leave a comment

I have a love hate relationship with rain.

Back when I was a child I used to welcome the rain, I would wear my raincoat and boots and dance till I’m soaked and my nanny would just let me bathe in the rain. I am more than happy when the school declares no classes, I would gather used paper and make paper boats to float in the puddle/flood waters outside our window. Add to that is the thought that the plants getting their supply of water (although at times too much) being the little gardener of the house I am happy as could be knowing that my kalamansi/corn/whatever seed(s) I got from the kitchen and planted on the soil, would grow.

Tropical Rain

Tropical Rain image from whatwallpaper.com

A few years more I still love the rain, although I don’t play outside anymore.  I would cozy myself with a book by the window and have a bowl of ice cream or a cup of hot chocolate, and some cookies and I am all set to enjoy the cool wind and the splashy noises of drizzling water.

Now, I still like the cool wind that comes with the rain but, I am now more aware of the hassles/damages the rain and the rainy season brings. A few years back my family had our share of the damage/s it brings our house was flooded (half of the first floor), no electricity, no water, our car got water damaged due to the flood (we had to sell it and buy a new one), we ran out of vegetables and our pet rabbits have to eat bread to get by, we got stuck in the house without drinking water and my sister and I have to wade through thigh deep waters to get a few bottles of water. Going to and back home from the office is also a real challenge since it easily floods in the area, I have to wade through knee deep flood waters to get to work. I sometimes go to work wearing a rain boots or worse,  beach slippers!

After the flooded house/car experience, I am now wary every time it rains. I worry about how will we get home? Are my loved ones safe and dry? Do we need to move the car to a higher place? Is the supply of food and water enough for us? Did we have means of communication with others?

It became more tedious as I grow up. Maybe because I can now understand better.

The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain. -Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

