life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

Filipino Friday 2013 #4: This is Still Reading, Right?

Leave a comment

Here goes the fourth part of my Filipino Fridays post. And the question of the week is:

Do you read (or have at least tried to read) books in other formats aside from print? How was your experience with these different book formats?

photo from bookcoaching.com

photo from bookcoaching.com

 

I read e-books. Usually PDF or rich text format/s and I read them on my PC, laptop or mobile phone.  I love that it leaves no clutter and that I don’t have to worry about yellowing/torn pages, shelf space and having to bring the book everywhere (saves me space in my bag). I can have more than five books in my mobile and read them wherever I go.  I love that e-books are portable and can easily be shared to my friends. We can read the same book! No more waiting for one to finish before you can borrow! To add to that, I don’t have to worry about letting people borrow my books… the printed books are sometimes borrowed but never returned, or returned with a few pages folded, torn, cover falling apart, etc.  I hate it when it happens.  Now, I can just give them a copy of the e-book et viola, no more fear of non-returning books or damaged books. 

 

Okay, so enough about the positives. here are the not so good stuff about e-books. You cannot read them unless you have electricity/battery. One cannot feel the pages of the book, or the scent of a new or old book. Once the file gets corrupted/deleted it has the chance to go bye-bye. And because I am living in the Philippines where a lot of muggers are up and about, you cant read in a public place, public transportation for fear that your gadget containing all your contacts, books, pictures and all the other stuff be grabbed from your hands. Another con will be, you cannot get an author to sign your e-book, an autograph will always be better on paper.

Overall, I love books. Printed or e-book formats is okay with me as long as I have a book.

 

A book is a fragile creature, it suffers the wear of time, it fears rodents, the elements and clumsy hands. so the librarian protects the books not only against mankind but also against nature and devotes his life to this war with the forces of oblivion. –Umberto Eco

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

