life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

being an artist

1 Comment

Comes with pros and cons. (I’m a graphic artist/designer.)

I love being able to help out businesses/people regarding branding, advertisements, packaging, layouts, photo editing, drawing, creating ideas, creating unique personalized gifts, helping you when you have a fashion crisis, flyers, illustration, doing my little sister’s school project/assignments, making designs for the church..etc. which is pretty neat!

But there are also times that I hate being one.

Like when people expect you to work for free. *No, I don’t work for free. I have bills to pay too, just like you. Do you work for free?* Or when they ask you to create a design and end up bossing you around to do what they want and create a ridiculous design then blame you for the awful design. *Have you forgotten that I just created what you want?!* Or when people think that artwork is not work. Or when people expect you to churn out the artwork right after giving you the details to the last minute because it is already needed. *I need time to create!*  Or when people say, Woah you charge that much?! It looks so damn easy! *Yeah right, save yourself the trouble and do it yourself then!* Can you do my (event) invitations for free? I can get you in for free! *seriously, I am not interested in your event* My son/daughter is just insert age here 10 and below and is a really good artist just like you. *facepalm* Design for us for free and it will be good word of mouth advertising for you. *WTF?!* Create a poster for me then gives me a lot of crappy, small sized photos and tells me to Photoshop it, then when told that those photos cannot be used, they get angry at you and tells you that you cant do Photoshop. *tableflip*

Exactly how I feel. People who does graphic design for a living will find this funny.

Exactly how I feel. People who does graphic design for a living will find this funny. (form the internet)

And usually all I can say/do to those people described above is just to politely smile and shrug of whatever they just said. *But in my mind, I just high fived their face while shouting aaaaaaarrrrgggghhhhh! like a Spartan*

I also found a list of why you should and should not date a graphic designer from the internet and found it hilarious! I tweaked it and made my version. 

graphic designers

 

The real lists can be found here:  Do not date a graphic designer & Date a graphic designer.

*We can still add more to the list. Let me know what you would like to add.

But, with great power comes great responsibility. It is awesome being an Artist.

artist

 

An artist is not paid for his labor but for his vision. – James Whistler

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

One thought on “being an artist

  1. thanks for the link love! Great post here, you are very right & I agree that being an artist is both great, wonderful and inspiring but also at times quite trying & even overwhelming. Keep up the blogging, cheers!

Leave a Reply

