life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

stop and sniff

Leave a comment

I could still recall the day I encountered a perfume we can’t resist sniffing.

Joanna (my best friend) and I were out playing when our neighbor Ava passed by. She is older than us (by 8-10 years, I guess) and she is beautiful, we liked looking at her and imagining what we would look like if we were her age, and we would always know if she was near because she always smells nice. (like peaches, or caramel apples) We liked her perfume. We just didn’t have the nerve to ask her what it is. To us it was magic.

sweet peaches  photo from 1zoom.net

sweet peaches – photo from 1zoom.net

So, we would wait for her to pass by every afternoon to get a sniff.

Fast forward to high school, I got a a bottle of perfume from my aunt in States. It has a acrylic crystal box and the bottle resembles a teddy bear. It smells sweet and light and I loved it to the last spray! Too bad I cannot recall the brand. 

Come college days I used a lot of  baby colognes. I got Johnson’s baby cologne in morning dew and summer swing. Also used Bench bay cologne in bubblegum and lemon drop plus the sweet pea body mist and kiwi cologne spray.

I then started work, I got Glow by JLo from a officemate. (who learned that I love JLo) And my interest in perfumes was piqued! I mean this stuff lasts for more than an hour! I then bought Japanese cherry blossom perfume from the Body shop from my own pocket! (This was a big move for me because at that time, I was skeptic to buy perfumes as they are expensive, i see them as a “want item” not a “need item”. Well, at least for me.)

Japanese Cherry Blossom photo from hdwallphotos.com

Japanese Cherry Blossom – photo from hdwallphotos.com

That christmas Joanna got me a bottle of Guess for woman perfume and I absolutely adored it! the next year rolled around and she got me Jlo’s Still perfume (I really love JLo, and her perfumes too.), then a Ralph Lauren perfume for women, D&G light blue, Salvatore Ferragamo incanto shine… almost all of the perfumes I own are gifts from her.

I also got her to look at Fragrantica! and got the idea to go searching for a new perfume, we listed what we like to try out. But with the tall order that we will not “blind buy” we will smell it first. *Perfume counters in the Philippines doesn’t give out samples. 

these are not mine... I just hope it was. photo from we heart it

these are not mine… I just hope it was.
photo from we heart it

So our last shopping meet-up was spent looking for and sniffing at perfume counters! We sniffed till our feet hurt, from all the walking and lamenting why they don’t give out sample vials locally. We tested, and compared. On the end of the day Joanna loved Marc Jacobs Dot-honey, while I liked Juicy Couture Viva la juicy-noir and of course Miss Dior that I have been looking at from fragrantica. 

The one I have been looking for photo from we heart it

The one I have been looking for – photo from we heart it

I was actually looking for Miss Dior Le parfum. But locally (Rustan’s Philippines) they don’t carry the Le parfum, they only have the Eau de parfum and I am undecided to get it till i smell the le parfum

We ended up not buying any perfumes that day.

But we learned what scents we like and what we don’t, which perfume works better with our skin, what gives better projection, lasting silage… more than just looking at the descriptions on the internet.

We got to test the fragrances.

And that was okay for us. We could always buy on the next shopping day.

 

 

A woman’s perfume tells more about her than her handwriting. – Christian Dior

 

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

