life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

life lessons in selling fruit shakes

4 Comments

I had a short stint on my aunt’s fruit shake shop, while she was away on a vacation. 
This is what I learned from my experience:
  • People can be plain rude. (You cant do anything about it. Grin and bear it.)
  • Rich people doesn’t necessarily equate to bigger tip. There are rich people who leave the saddest tip, in pocket change. You’ll get a lot of orders, shouted at and they would usually leave without a tip. And then you sometimes get a senior citizen who who doesn’t know what to order and when you help them, you get a smile and a sincere thank you that brightens your day and could take up more than 5 mins of your time.
fruit shakes

fruit shakes

  • You don’t know “tired”.  On your feet for hours, running back and forth, carrying drinks and constantly getting yelled at from every direction. -whole day straight. (With a half hour lunch break and another half hour for afternoon break) And repeat.
  • You try your hand in selling. On some occasions…  in one instance I was forced to improve my Mandarin Chinese speaking skills. I sold avocado shakes to a Chinese tourist who apparently wants a buko pandan (coconut) shake. (Lesson learned. I drank the offending shake, and placed it on my tab.) Selling is an art! Learning it in action is invaluable. Instant assessment of your sales skill is awesome.
  • Teamwork. I serve you mop, I wash, you do the cash register…  If you slack, people will know. 
  • Patience. With people. Make that disrespectful strangers or co-crew members. Its one of the useful skills anyone can learn. Being able to do this takes a lot of effort, but having someone who treats you like the source of all their problems, and having to pretend to love listening to them complain, it does take a huge effort not to bash them in the head with the spatula. So, along the way you also learn self-control! hooray!
  • Cleanliness is a way of life. Organized work station, and  a mess-free floor are of utmost importance. Washing your hands will also be a habit. 
  • You learn to accept dropping all your standards of cool, by being degraded by your boss, being seen moping floors or wiping counters (so not glam), being forced to say awkward greetings.  (“Hi, I’m insert-name-here, welcome to name-of-establishment-here, where everything is awesome all the time! Can I get you anything?”)
No glamour and pretensions, just plain work. Honestly, its good. 
“…talent means nothing, while experience, acquired in humility and with hard work, means everything.” ― Patrick Süskind, Perfume: The Story of a Murderer
Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

4 thoughts on “life lessons in selling fruit shakes

  1. I believe that giving tip is not very popular for us Filipinos for I don’t give tip too. Perhaps in hotel it can happen but it’s usually foreigners who has that habit.

    I’m a bit confused about trying your hand in selling >_< Though i agree with people will now if you slcak, i'm guilty XD

  2. Ah yes, I just went out and tried to convince people to enter/buy at the store. Or if what they like is not available, I convince them to try something else. I’m happy when I make a sale and if not, I try again next time. =)

    • One of my summer job before, I worked as an agent in one of the known Telecommunication company. It was at first embarassing but it was one of the unforgettable experience in my life. The part that you have to sales talk, convince people into buying products and oops even giving fliers XD There’s always something new to learn and it’s a privilege to try what other low or common people do. It makes us humble 🙂

Leave a Reply

