life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

some more pearls for grandma

5 Comments

My grandma (mother’s side) recently turned 85 last July 24.

For that joyful occasion, I got her a pearl necklace.

grandma's pearls

The two strand pearl necklace I got for my Grandma.

I don’t know why, usually grandmas love pearls. I dislike them for that reason. No pearls for me. 

But my Grandma likes them so much, she collects them. She has them in a pale pink, white, cream, gold and grey. No black. (black is not a good color according to Chinese superstitions)  I don’t know the exact count of her pearl collection.  

All I know is she adores them. She wears them daily. She even matches them with her outfit!

She always has a single strand of round pearls, with pearls studs on her ears. They are her fashion staple.

 

So, when I was looking for a gift for her birthday, I need to get her something I never got her before.

(On her past birthdays I got her a ink portrait, a pink fluffy bathrobe, swarovski necklace… etc)

I never got her pearls. Till this birthday.

She loved it! Even my aunts liked the unique shape of this necklace. 

Awesome-NOT.

 

Apparently, the necklace doesn’t fit.

That left us all baffled. Before I gave it to her I tried wearing it at home, along with my Mum, my Sister, even our Nanny tried it on, it fits us all. ( twisted to two strand)

But when Grandma tried to wear it, she cannot twist and loop the necklace into two strand.

Its just a long weird strand of pearls on her.  I need to get the necklace re stringed with additional pearls. 

 

That got us thinking, do people’s heads grow wider as they age? We think it does.

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

5 thoughts on “some more pearls for grandma

  1. Really ah?! Hope the necklace gets fixed soon.

  2. Pingback: seeing blue | life of a cuddlebit

  3. Medically no. Past a certain age, a person loses bone mass (sometimes to the point of osteoperosis). So some of the possibilities are that your grandmother may just have trouble putting it over her head because she isn’t as dexterous (rheumatism in her hands?) or maybe her head is indeed bigger–because of her granny perm!

    • maybe her head is indeed bigger–because of her granny perm!- this got me laughing my head off! But maybe this is the reason why she tells us that it does not fit. Granny can be vain at times. (not a strand of hair out of place kind of lady) =)

Leave a Reply

