life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

seeing blue

5 Comments

Kei accopanied me stroll around Greenhills to look for someone who could restring my (mother’s side) grandma’s pearls. After a short while we got someone willing to restring and add a few more pearls for a fee. Search is over.

To pass the time we found ourselves looking at all the loose multicolored gemstones displayed on the glass cases. No plans on buying. Just window shopping.

Then we got curious. Asked prices of their ready to wear jewelry, the price is actually reasonable. Then we turned to ask about the loose gemstones in the glass cases. They sell it by piece, then you get a “latero” (Filipino/Philippine term for jewelry maker) to set the stone for you.

I asked for a blue sapphire. They offered me a lot!

Pretty huge ones that reminds me of Kate Middleton’s ring. Best of all, you can haggle. Just wow.

Kate Middleton photo from www.marieclaire.co.uk

Kate Middleton photo from http://www.marieclaire.co.uk

*Just in case you are curious, there is an abundance of Kate Middleton’s ring look alike/s there!

I told them I wanted a small round one. To be made into an everyday ring I could wear without the fear of losing my engagement ring. I was given a lot of options. They were actually convincing me to go with a bigger stone! But no, that would look tacky on me. Think granny-ish. No offense to the grandmas out there, I just think it’s still not age appropriate for me to wear a huge rock.

 

Something like this. Stephen Einhorn "love" ring photo from the internet

Something like this.
Stephen Einhorn “love” ring photo from the internet

There are natural sapphires (pricier/differs in color/may have inclusions), and lab created (cheaper/looks perfect) ones, in all sorts of colors. All huge, by that I mean as big as a thumbnail, should that be too small for your liking they also have bigger stones as big as a thumb. I insisted that I wanted a small natural one. So they handed me a melee of natural blue sapphires (from India) to choose from. There were hearts, rounds, ovals, square, baguettes…etc. and in different shades of blue. It was overwhelming.

melee sapphires

melee sapphires (photo from the internet, we don’t have an actual photo of the melee we chose from)

Kei helped me choose what to get from the melee. While I really tried to remember how my Grandmother’s (from the father’s side this time) sapphires look. When she was still with us, she taught me to look for good color, vividness of the stone, she always says gemstones must always look “alive”. Unlike my mother’s side grandma, my father’s side grandma collects gemstones.

shades of sapphires

shades of sapphires

The best color is royal blue. The least valued is the black blue color.

And also look at the stone clarity. Must be eye clean at least and clear for light to pass through it and make the stone “alive”.

Sapphire Clarity

stone clarity

In the end, we picked out a natural royal blue sapphire, vivid and I believe very good clarity!

Not a huge one of course, it’s actually pretty small.  Its extremely hard to get the color right in the photo, it looks dark here, but it is a royal blue color. Sorry, this was my best shot.

My own sapphire with a one Philippine peso to scale. With the calling card of the stall.

My own sapphire with a one Philippine peso to scale, along with the calling card of the stall.

But it’s a pretty stone nonetheless; even the shopkeepers told us that we got the best one in the pile.

Even the shop owner validated that we did get a good one.

I am pretty sure we will go back here someday.

 

*They have sapphires in other colors too.

**they also have other gemstones like rubies, emeralds, spinels, tanzanite, jade…etc

***All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are our own and based on our own experience. This is not a sponsored post, We paid for this (from) our own pocket. 

 

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

5 thoughts on “seeing blue

  1. I can’t help it, so I will comment 😄 thanks for this info.. Sapphire is my favorite since it’s my birth stone and I’m happy for that.. I always find the sapphire very elegant. I want to have an earrings with sapphire and silver, or maybe white gold and then diamonds 😄 The ring is very nice.

    I hope bf knows 😦 I would be really happy in case.

  2. I agree! Sapphire is a really pretty rock! It stands for fidelity. No wonder the royals like it very much….
    I think white gold would be better with sapphire, and as for the earrings it would be very glam to get them with a halo of small diamonds (if the budget permits) if not, get other gemstones to match! (ie, peridot, amethyst or even sapphires of a different hue!)
    You could subtly tell the bf so he knows your preferences! =)

  3. Hi! I hope you dont mind. I’d like to ask the price range of the loose gemstone that you bought. Thank you

    • Hello Elle!
      If I remember correctly I got this for less than a thousand pesos.
      (500php up and 1000php below) The price also depends on the cut of the stone.
      I chose a plain round one and I haggled for the price. ^_^

  4. Hi! Have you tried having the sapphire professionally checked if it is indeed a genuine sapphire? Thinking of investing on a sapphire and checking out Sa-ad Gems. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

