life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

Searching for the wedding gown: Thoughts on the dress

1 Comment

After all the RTW dress fittings, I am seriously overwhelmed and a bit disappointed that none of them felt like the one. I am not saying yes to the dress for reasons: too expensive, too plain, doesn’t feel like it is me….etc.

I kept all the pictures and showed them to my grandma (this is the grandma who loves pearls). Wearing her glasses, she looked at all the photos together with my most fashion forward Aunt. They smiled nervously as I told them that was all. My grandma said; dear, you must find something dramatic. Your Grandma wants to dress fabulously.

My Aunt said, the dresses you made us look at is rather plain. I am afraid; we don’t find it beautiful enough for the occasion. *I am the first grandchild to be married.*

By this time, my mind is spinning. They wanted a fabulous dress, but we have a budget! What will Kei say?

I also wanted my dress to be beautiful, and that it would be fit to my personality and feels like “me”.

Choosing your gown? here is a guide. Click on the image to enlarge. photo taken from pinterest.

Choosing your gown? here is a guide. (Click on the image to enlarge,  photo taken from pinterest.)

 

All I know is, I want a mermaid gown, appliquéd/beaded, in ivory, with a dramatic skirt and beautiful low back, plus a colored petticoat underneath.

One thing is for sure, I need to find pegs then, we need to find a designer. Most importantly, both of us must also agree on the design and designer.

And we need to book one fast! Because here in The Philippines, if you want the wedding industry’s best you have to act fast, as their slots are usually full a year before your wedding date.

I hurriedly called and set an appointment at my cousin’s wedding gown designer. (Their wedding took place 5 years ago.)  He is well known, and awarded as one of the best. On the said date, bringing Kei along with me, we went to his atelier. We got lost, and that got the designer mad at us. I think we may have encountered him in one of his bad mood days. He was stern and very quiet.

I showed him a sketch/peg I made, and he was actually amazed that I can draw. Then he proceeded to sketch what he thinks will flatter my figure. Kei and I liked his sketch very much. He still has slots for 2015 brides.

But the price nearly knocked us off our seats. He is asking for 200k. Only 1 wedding dress. This is not a package price. Apparently, designers’ prices can shoot up that much in a span of five years. Duh.

It was a NO. That amount of money is too much to just check off one item off the list.

Di sulit. (Fliipino term for: Not worth it.)

 

We need to look for another designer. A good one, without the outrageous price, that could make my dress.

That led us to looking at another designer whose facebook page is always updated with photos of her beaming clients/brides. Kei thought her works are nice, and I really googled about her price range. Seems reasonable than the first. We called her up and scheduled an appointment.

By that time, she was away on Singapore. We will see her once she comes back.

Again I brought out my pegs/sketches. She then rummaged through her stash of fabrics and lace and brought out a fabric similar to my peg. Then she sketched for me. Then voiced out her reasons on why she designed the sketch that way. We instantly felt at ease. We liked her.

She is almost fully booked for 2015. Whoa, that fast?!

Asked about the price, it is below 100k. Value for money.

We smiled. I think we found our gown designer.

 

 

*All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are our own and based on our own experience.

**Start planning early. You get to pick the suppliers you like, rather than having to look for your second choice.

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

One thought on “Searching for the wedding gown: Thoughts on the dress

  1. Pingback: Searching for the wedding gown: We found our gown designer | life of a cuddlebit

Leave a Reply

