life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

scent trail

1 Comment

I have an agenda. I am going to AC+632 (in Greenbelt) to buy a bunch of peach/pink peonies. That being said I hurriedly asked Kei to accompany me. So, after getting my peonies. (And spending the next 30 mins or so looking at all the quirky finds inside the store.)

peonies

 

On the way back, we passed by Adora. We used to walk past, but this time Kei wanted to go exploring so we went. Inside was a trove of imported brands. Looking around one corner of the store caught my attention. Maison Francis Kurkdjian. (I have read about Francis Kurkdjian in Fragrantica!) Perfumes! I love perfumes.

MFK

Since Kei is on the hunt for a perfume. This is perfect! I told him to try and sniff around for a new scent.

He likes Francis Kurkdjian’s Aqua Universalis (A unisex scent good for daily wear. Makes me think of fresh just took a bath scent). While he was trying it out the sales representative let me try a women’s perfume that she thought would suit me.  It was Francis Kurkdjian’s Pluriel (Soft, rose, feminine floral. This to me is like a Lady who goes to a afternoon high tea).

Pluriel

Aqua Universalis on the left, Pluriel to the right.

Really liked them both. That was not a surprise as Francis Kurkdjian is a noted perfumer and has made perfumes for luxury houses like Hermes, Burberry, Elie Saab, Elizabeth Arden… etc.

On the other corner is another perfume brand. Penhaligon of London. Since we are already there might as well explore right?

penhaligon

 

The colorful displays really piqued our curiosity. What made it more interesting is that it is a brand with a history. They make perfumes for the Royal Family. 

Kei was offered Quercus. (A citrusy cologne good for daily wear. I can imagine this would be good to use on sunny days outdoors)  Then Sartorial, a woody, musky scent. (Strong, masculine scent good for dressed up occasions. It leaves the impression of a date scent to me.) Both scents are good. We also sniffed the other masculine scents that they offer but, we seem to back again to the first two offered.

kei's picks

While Kei is talking to the sales representative, I found myself reaching for Artemisia (Powdery, woody, oriental scent. Makes me think of a rich auntie). It was, apparently their best seller.  Liked it but not that much, the powdery scent makes me think that it is a bit “mature” for me. To which she quickly recommended Empressa. (Citrus, fruity, floral scent. Clean, just got out of the shower scent) This one I liked but I think the scent is a tad generic. Not really something I would go for.

my picks

I got distracted. Going back to Kei’s perfume hunt. It was unanimous.

We both agreed Sartorial is the one who wins the hunt.

 

AC+632 and Adora can be found at 2/F, Greenbelt 5

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

One thought on “scent trail

  1. Pingback: How we spent labor weekend: aka our Gay-bordate shopping weekend | life of a cuddlebit

Leave a Reply

