life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

Picking the blooms for the bouquet

1 Comment

So, we (Kei and I) already met our florist.

I came prepared. By that meaning I printed out my pegs to show her what I liked.

For my own bunch of flowers, I wanted a round hand-tied bouquet with long ribbons. As for the blooms I really like Peonies. That was my first pick. So, that was my first question. Can I have peonies in my bridal bouquet? I was told yes. I let out a squeal of joy. Of course peonies are imported (so it is expensive), our florist decided to add ranunculus, and old english rose. (old english roses differ from the standard roses we usually see, to know more about different types of roses see this site.)

For fillers she suggested million stars, I thought it looked a lot like baby’s breath. To which I agreed. She says my bouquet will look like this.

the exact photo our florist showed me. Photo from the wedding chicks.

the exact photo our florist showed me. Photo from the wedding chicks.

As for my MOH (maid of honor), The flowers suggested are gerbera daisies, carnations and roses.

I am familiar with those flowers and those sounds real good to me so I agreed. 

I looked up the million stars flower our florist told me about on the internet, as I got home. Apparently my guess is correct, it is the same as baby’s breath. I don’t want baby’s breath on my bouquet.

So, I went to google peony bouquets and found this.

look at what I found! lovely right?! Photo taken from pinterest

look at what I found! lovely right?! Photo taken from pinterest

I want my bouquet to look like this. So, went on to look for the filler flowers found in this photo! I spent a whole morning looking for what these filler flowers are called! The fillers used here are astilbe and bouvardia. Thanks again google!

they look like the ones on the bouquet right?

they look like the ones on the bouquet right?

Then sent an e-mail to the florist right away, and hoped/prayed to God please let me have pretty flowers. As it will be subject to availability.

Also looked up the blooms I picked, according to their symbols / meanings the “language of flowers”. So, if I would be lucky to get the bouquet above, here is the breakdown of its meaning.

Sounds like I know a lot about flowers?! No. I actually read about them from the internet.

Sounds like I know a lot about flowers?! No. I actually read about them from the internet.

I kind of liked each and every flower and their meaning. But I still need to find back ups just in case. So far here are the other fillers that I really like.

the back up options

the back up options

As for my maid of honor’s bouquet (gerbera daisies, carnations and roses) here is the breakdown of their meanings.

  • Gerbera – gerbera daisies can mean innocence, purity, and cheerfulness as well as being a classic symbol of beauty. It stands out as one of the most distinctly bright and merry flowers. With its bold and striking appearance, these large daisy variations come in a number of vibrant colors that lift the spirit and are an ideal way to brighten someone’s day.
  • Carnation – is a historically rich and meaningful flower choice. With its scientific name dianthus roughly translating to “flower of love” or “flower of the gods”, this flower is one that has been revered for centuries. One of the world’s oldest cultivated flowers, it is appreciated for its ruffled appearance, clove-like scent, and extended blooming period.
  • Rose – of any color can simply mean gratitude and simplicity. Roses symbolize Love, joy, beauty and passion. Roses are the most popular wedding flowers. It can be lightly fragrant to very fragrant, depending on variety. Spray/Standard Roses are the ones commonly used. English-style/garden roses have full, intensely perfumed flowers make sumptuous bouquets.

Basically I picked the flowers not only because I like how they look but also for the message they convey.

Curious about what your favorite flower means? this site listed out a lot of flowers.  For the soon to be brides or just curious: check this for the top 10 list of wedding flowers usually used. For symbolism of the flowers and what flowers to avoid see this list.

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

One thought on “Picking the blooms for the bouquet

  1. Pingback: flowers to impress from Florabee : a review | life of a cuddlebit

Leave a Reply

