life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

prettifying my groom, the macho style

Leave a comment

I feel a bit sorry for grooms. While most of them shoulder the cost of the wedding they usually end up being just the afterthought. So for Kei, I wanted to make him feel special on that day too.

we are here to prettify my man!

we are here to prettify my man!

So, it is a good thing that I found the Union Station Barber Shop’s customized grooming service for the groom to be!

They created; The Spoiled Groom – that is a on the day grooming/pampering service for the groom to be, right in the comforts of the hotel room. Kind of like having an HMUA (I guess) but specifically for guys. To make them look their best on their big day! Isn’t that nice?! After looking at their facebook page, I told Kei that I am going to get him a manly version of HMUA. That got him asking me more questions. So, when I found out thet the union station barbershop is going to be at Edsa Shangri-la’s bridal fair, I made it sure that we get there to meet/book them.

DSC07864

To be honest, I initially wanted to book the basic package (concourse) that consists of: A Hair Cut / Trim or Define, a traditional hot towel shave, face massage, hair grooming and singe. That costs 3k. *45mins of service approx*

But after talking to them at the fair, we decided to go for the complete package (platform) that consists of: A Hair Cut / Trim or Define, a traditional hot towel shave, face massage, hair grooming and singe. The additional services included? Luxury Hair Treatment, Hand and Back Massage, Manlycure This costs 5k. *1 and a half hour of service approx*

DSC07871

Considering Kei loves getting scalp massages and back massages this is the bomb. Since we booked them at the fair, the freebie we got was the same package we got, for an additional head. Not bad. We plan to give it to Kei’s big brother who will be flying in from Japan. So he will not have to rush and worry about his hair/looks once he got here. So they will have more time to bond. That would mean more memories and time together to look back on. Priceless.

Since we booked them on the spot. I asked questions about their services and asked them to explain what the singe is.

Apparently, it is de-fuzzing the ears. As to how it is done, it is done with fire. Manly enough and kind of a bit scary… 

And they are going to give it a go! Kei is going to try getting singe-d! We were really curious and since it is a demo, why not?!

getting singe-d!

getting singe-d!

So, Kei gamely sat on the barber’s chair to get singed. The barber got cotton wrapped around a slim scissor and soaked it in alcohol. then, lit the thing up.

And Kei got singed on both ears. Asked if it hurts, he said no. It was just warm and the swooshing sound of the flame was the only thing that kept him aware that he was being singed. He was laughing and chatting with the barber the whole time. So, I guess it was a pleasant experience after all. Not something to be afraid of.

Thank you Wrangler!

Thank you Wrangler!

While waiting for Kei to finish his singe, my name was called out. Apparently, I won a gift bag from Wrangler! Wow! Thank you very much! 

I am giving it to Kei who is a fan of the brand and buys/wears their jeans regularly. And I am not saying this because I won. I really find their dark denims as a classic staple, I also love that their pants are soft to the skin. I even buy wrangler pants for Kei from time to time. We also get their polos. 

Simply put, Wrangler is one of our go-to-brands for pants as they have regular fit pants that looks better on men than those skinny pants that makes men look like sissy ballerinas with beards. imho. Their pants are also more forgiving for the full figured males. (They carry waist sizes to 40.) 

In return he has to buy me distressed shorts. Fair trade.

Also got to meet the Fashion Pulis! He is the host for the fair. He is super friendly! 

with fashion pulis!

with fashion pulis!

After a quick chat we shook hands and took this picture.

So, that concludes our Unveiled Edsa Shangri-La bridal fair adventure.

00-FINAL POSTER of UNVEIL

Thank you!

Personally, I would love to see my groom being pampered on his big day. Maybe have a few pictures and video of him getting ready being professionally groomed. I think it would be pretty awesome to see my groom getting pretty for me too.

hello to the team! =)

Photo with the team. Thank you! 

*All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are my own and based on my own experience with the service/product. This is not a sponsored post, I paid for this (from) my own pocket. 

Union Station Barber Shop – https://www.facebook.com/theunionstationbarber

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

