life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

paper story: our invites

6 Comments

Kei gave me the free hand to create our invites. I count it as one of the perks of being a graphic artist, as I already have an idea of what I wanted our wedding invitations to look like.

But being Chinese we have to uphold certain traditions. Our Invitations have to be bilingual. Being quite of a rule breaker that I am, I know for sure that I am not going to have the traditional Chinese wedding invitation cards.

Sorry, but this is just so not us.

At home we have a shoebox full of wedding invites that look like this. T_T (photo from google)

At home we have a shoe box full of wedding invites that look like this. T_T (photo from google)

But I am not about to go out and buy generically designed cards. I am going to create my own, our own. And get it printed.

I wanted something simple: no letterpress, gold foil or emboss, but I wanted to inject color to make it look happy and not so plain and of course, it must look modern. So the cost would be lower, and also to highlight the design and color. And if the budget would allow, I also wanted it to be on pearlescent paper. So I went to ask my best friend Google for inspiration.  I found these.

invitation inspiration all photos from google.

booklet type invitation inspiration (all photos from google)

I like the idea of a booklet type invitations. Beacuse I have to write everything twice, one in English and one in Chinese. I need a lot of pages!

So, I took that idea and went to create my awesome, modern bilingual invitations. I made two designs and got Kei to pick one, so that everything has Kei’s approval from the design to the paper stock. 

I now present our draft/prototype! This was printed at home using our desktop printer and cream colored pearlescent board paper, and held together by two paper fasteners.

Bilingual ✓, color ✓ , pearl paper ✓=just what we wanted.

Bilingual ✓, color ✓ , pearl paper ✓ = just what we wanted.

Ours still feature the traditional Chinese symbol double happiness* 囍, which was modernized by making the 喜 “hug” the other 喜. Using soft colors instead of the usual red and gold gave it a more casual, romantic feel. Using pearlescent paper also made it look elegant. We also added bunnies inside!

*Double Happiness is a ligature, “囍” composed of 喜喜 – two copies of the Chinese characters 喜 () literally means joy, compressed to assume the square shape of a standard Chinese character (much like a real character may consist of two parts), and is pronounced as apolysyllabic Chinese character, being read as 双喜 (shuāngxǐ). -wikipedia

The invite was sectioned into three parts: The wedding- that includes everything about the ceremony. The Entourage- This page has everyone in the bridal party. Lastly, we have The RSVP- where we placed more information (what to wear, our instagram tags, facebook page…etc) regarding the event.

So, once we got our draft done, we got some of our friends (who has been-there-done-that) to check our handiwork. They thought it was the real thing! hahaha! It looked good. We had all the wordings down pat. One even commented that the look was so Pammy. I took that as a compliment. ^_^ Till we let one of our principal sponsors take a look of it. (Unknown to me, they are in the printing industry! *surprise surprise!* They would also like print our invites!!).

They asked us out for dinner meet-up they got us to choose paper stock for our wedding invites! So blessed! Just Wow!

Imagine our amazement when they handed over swatches of Prestige Paper Products and Fedrigoni Papers. They let us choose the one we like. I was over the moon! I love stationery and fancy paper! So many options all awesome paper! But we had to choose, and keeping in line with what we wanted we picked out Fedrigoni Papers for Indigo in Soho Sirio Pearl Polar Dawn.

It looks like this.

It looks like this. But the photo does not give it justice.

The photo does not give it justice at all. It has these iridescent rainbow flecks on a base of subtly shimmery cream paper. Prints and colors shows up well on the paper too! Awesome sauce pretty!

 Now all we have to do is finalize the texts inside of the invites as we have a lot of changes in those.  

 

-Need a Chinese graphic artist for your own invites? shoot me a message. ^_^

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

6 thoughts on “paper story: our invites

  1. Wow, these are so beautiful! Can I reserve your Chinese graphic artist services for my wedding … 10 years down the road? 😉

  2. Pingback: slump | life of a cuddlebit

  3. There is no mistake–that is you through and through!
    And besides the dreamy, creamy invites, this just jumped out for me: “making the 喜 “hug” the other 喜”. I love the way how you wrote that! A letter character doing something animated. Nice!

Leave a Reply

