life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

alternative to the getting ready (bath) robes?-updated

Leave a comment

*updated to include the photos of the actual getting ready dress I used on the day of the wedding.

Brides mostly wear robes while getting ready because robes don’t need to be pulled over the head, so that it does not mess up the perfectly styled hair. Button up shirts is also favored for the same reason.

Sure, I get why. But no bath robe for me. I don’t want to have pictures taken that I am wearing a bath robe. Why? Because as much as I love the comfy terrycloth bathrobe, they would look horrid in pictures. Like I just used the hotel supplied robes.

a terry cloth robe and linen robe -photos from the internet

a terry cloth robe (left) and linen robe (right) – photos from the internet

I also like those linen robes, but those usually come in drab colors, like white or grey. Cotton voile robes are hard to find, or has a dowdy print. Silk and satin robes are not really what I am looking for. Shiny fabrics are not my thing.

And lately there are those custom made (robes) shiny lace-y ones that are all the rage right now, are absolutely a no for my wallet! Sure I like that they can be customized, they look really pretty and all but, I don’t think I would wear it again after the wedding. With the money I need to shell out for a custom made robe, I’d rather get a dress I love that I can wear again and again.

Speaking of the dress I would love to have… 

If I only have a ton of money, this Alexis Mabille dress Lea Seydoux wore will be my getting ready dress. I wish. 

I love it!

I love  it and I wouldn’t change a thing! Photo from RCFA

But, I don’t (have a ton of money). And even if I love the hemline, it will not be practical.

So, I will just have to get the inspiration. I have always liked trench coat inspired dress so this is the chance to get myself one! I searched specifically for white ones to look more bride appropriate. 

trench coat inspired!

trench coat inspired dresses! photos from the internet.

These fit the bill as it is a dress that wouldn’t mess my hair. I just wanted to make it look a bit more trench coat looking, with the double breasted buttons.  I also wanted it to be knee length with pockets on the sides.

My inspiration is a classic trench coat. Its timeless. They are simple, stylish and always look classy.

So after a bit of doodling… this will be my getting ready dress!

A sleeveless, trench inspired number. That is perfect for our warm weather. I could use and re-use and reuse this.

Pure linen would be a good choice as it is breathable and not shiny!

I based the design from the classic trench. 

Pure linen fabric would be a good choice as it is breathable and not shiny! 

For this my Mum accompanied me to look for fabric in Tabora, Divisoria. (walking under the intense heat and rows upon rows of street peddlers selling their wares, a crowd of shoppers… not really a walk in the park) Fabric shopping ain’t pretty. And pure linen have a very limited color choices! (I did not expect that it would be pricey! So, I was a bit surprised with the price of the fabric. Me and my penchant for the finer things in life… sigh) 

Initially, I wanted my dress to be white or blush pink but there is no blush pink linen fabric to be found. The options only include white (I did not get white in the end as it would be difficult to maintain), grey, dark grey, blue, navy blue, brown, khaki, rust (my Mum likes this one), fuchsia and teal (my pick).

the color picks

the color we picked out- rust to the left and teal to the right

After much deliberation, I went with teal as it is a bright happy color. Plus it really works with my skin tone. The rust made my skin look a bit darker.

And off to the seamstress I go! Woot! 

*so here is the updated part.

I personalized my getting ready dress. It had personalized embroidery on the sash! It would be there but not really too obvious.

Since I am taking Kei’s last name when I get married I got the embroidery to be ‘Mrs. Husband’sFirstAndLastName’. On second thought I wanted it to be ‘THE Mrs. Husband’sFirstAndLastName’! For added impact! hahaha! 

Sorry had to delete parts of the name.

Here I am wearing the actual getting ready trench inspired dress on the day of the wedding. Sorry had to delete parts of the name.

My trench dress in action!

My trench dress in action!

-My cousin wore a simple gown on the morning of her wedding, another cousin wore a silk robe, a friend I know wore a button down polo. I have also seen other brides (to-be) don a simple dress. I am just curious… what did you wear/planning to wear as your “getting ready outfit” on the morning of your wedding? 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

