life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

regal in every way

2 Comments

Back when I was in the wedding preparation stage, I had one huge problem.

How was I going to dance when my wedding gown is constricting?!

Obvious Pammy answer: Get a dress made.

My friend from church recommended Aoui Regala.

Yes those are her creations and yes again that is Aoui. (photo taken from her facebook page)

Yes those are her creations and yes again that is Aoui. (photos taken from her facebook page)

Young,fresh and pretty! Ang friendly pa niya. promise. 

I emailed her my peg and waited for a estimate.

Yes, I am aware that both my pegs are black. (left: A dress Carey Mulligan wore, right: A h&m dress) all photos are from the internet

Yes, I am aware that both my pegs are black. (left: A dress Carey Mulligan wore, right: A h&m dress) all photos are from the internet

What I want: a sleeveless bateau top with the high-low hem and the train. In blush pink with a bit of beading. Key words are: Structured and simple-nothing over the top with a bit of sparkle.

I set the date for appointment. But unknown to me, the days leading before the appointment Aoui’s daughter has been admitted at the hospital. And it was still unknown what the cause is.

So she is very worried and has to stay with her daughter at the hospital.

The day before the fitting I texted her to confirm and she told me her situation. I was worried for her (I am praying that it is a minor thing, and that her daughter is okay.) and also a bit worried about myself too-with my rigid 6 days a week work schedule, I don’t have much wiggle room in terms of schedule. (Will the dress be done on time?- I contacted Aoui early November and I need the dress before mid December. It’s a very rush job.)

I volunteered to go to the hospital to get measured, so that she wouldn’t have to leave her daughter’s side. But she refused and told me that she will still go to her atelier.

So after a quick hello she got my measurements in less than fifteen minutes.

After a few days Aoui told me that the cause of her daughter’s admission was respiratory tract infection and acute bronchitis.

Acute bronchitis is a clinical syndrome produced by inflammation of the trachea, bronchi, and bronchioles. In children, acute bronchitis usually occurs in association with viral respiratory tract infection. Acute bronchitis is rarely a primary bacterial infection in otherwise healthy children.- from www. medscape.com

And that her daughter is okay and recovering. I was very much relived to know that all is well. As well as gave me updates on the progress of the dress.

On the next fitting, I got to wear the dress and see the embellishments on the dress!

aoui fitting

I love my dress!

And they just noted the length of the train I wanted. –they gave out an excess of fabric should I want a longer train…they did not scrimp on fabric. Di nila ako tinipid!

left: that would be me talking to Aoui (pixelated the photo as she was in work mode that day) and right: I am probably doing the chicken dance. lols.

left: that would be me talking to Aoui (pixelated the photo as she was in work mode that day) and right: I am probably doing the chicken dance. lols.

They took the time to ask me if I was comfortable, asked me to move around, sit, wave, spin.. etc. to be sure that the fit was perfect. We even chatted for quite a bit! And best of all they did all these even if I was 30 mins late on my appointment.-I think I was the last client of the day. Di nila ako minadali.

At the last fitting, I just hurriedly fit and claimed the dress. I remember it was raining so hard that day and I was late again. They packed my dress in a waterproof garment bag to help us on our way and I was really, really grateful that Aoui and her team thought of that. I got soaked that day but my dress was pristine. Thank heavens.

On the day of the wedding, I did a few “glam” shots with Aoui’s creation. The dress looks beautiful on the photos, and absolutely more stunning in real life.

All these photos are grabbed from Aoui’s Facebook page.

aoui1

Blush Duchess Satin dress by Aoui Regala Atelier / Photo by RealityBox

aoui2

Blush Duchess Satin dress by Aoui Regala Atelier / Photo by RealityBox

aoui3

Blush Duchess Satin dress by Aoui Regala Atelier / Photo by RealityBox

Look at how tiny my waist looks like. Aoui did that magic!

Best of all I did get to dance!

I danced to Ed Sheeran’s- Thinking out loud and Walk the Moon’s- Shut up and Dance that are both not exactly a slow dance type of song! I did all that arm movements and fancy footwork. Best of all I did not feel constrained and worried that I may bust a seam or any unwanted exposure, the fit was perfect.

The only stolen photo of us dancing to thinking out loud.-all the other photos we have right now is blurry.

The only stolen photo of us dancing to thinking out loud.-all the other photos we have right now is blurry.

And after the dance you can just see that I worked up a sweat and beaming a very much relived and glad-I-made-it smile. And yes that’s Matti by my side.

All smiles! I pulled off the dance! (that would be Matti on the left)

All smiles! I pulled off the dance! (that would be Matti on the left)

You have been more than my designer but a friend to me Aoui. Thank you so much.

5outof5Rating 6 out of 5. (exceeded our expectations) The way Aoui treats clients is like being a friend who cares to listen and does what’s best for you, even if it means that she would not profit that much. She is very thorough and meticulous with her dresses and she does not scrimp on fabric or quality! To her, clients are not just a source of income but also a new connection, a new friend. I like that with her you can feel at ease and be sure that you would look regal in every way!

See Aoui’s creations for yourself! here is a link to Aoui Regala Atelier.

*Mention that you are a reader of Pam’s blog to her and she would be sure to help you out. 

 **All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are my own and based on my own experience. This is not a sponsored post ,I paid for my reception dress from my own pocket.

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

2 thoughts on “regal in every way

  1. Hi Ms. Pam! Would you know po ang price range ng gowns ni Ms. Aoui Regala? Thanks po!

    • Hello Mia!

      Gown prices vary based on design and fabric to be used kaya iba-iba ang price per gown.
      Mine was blush Duchess Satin (medyo mahirap hanapin na kulay and mahal yung tela) with minimal beading and embroidery, high-low with sweep train (makain sa tela).
      Fit and made to my measurements. I would assume na aabot na ng 20K sa ibang designers yung hinihingi kong design sa kanya, pero she just quoted me 3/4 of the price I expected.
      From my experience I can safely say that Aoui prices each gown based on the materials then adds a bit for her labor. Di niya ginugulat/tina-taga ang amga clients niya, she would even give suggestions/alternatives to lower the cost. Kaya highly recommended ko siya, I know di ako mapapahiya sa pag recommend sa kanya.

      Again, Its a custom creation kaya syempre may premium price din. pero again, depende yan sa hirap nung design na ipapagawa mo.
      Send Aoui your peg and specifications on the gown you want made. Friendly yun.
      Tell her you are a reader of Pam’s blog and I am sure she will help you out. =)

      -Pam

Leave a Reply

