life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

our toys multiplied by themselves

Leave a comment

I will be honest. I used to look at Kei’s toys with disdain, I believe (till now) that he has too many toys. His former bedroom looks a lot like Densha Otoko’s bedroom. No joke.

a lot like this

this is Densha Otoko’s bedroom -photo from google

Lots and lots of toys, robots, anime posters, a pc that is always open, plushies, a board of keychains…basically, total geek territory. I kind of freaked out the first time I saw his room.

Over time, I got to know some of his favorite toys. I even gave Kei a Donatello from Ninja Turtles that was his childhood frustration. I’d safely say that while I was not a fan of his toys, I respect that those were things he likes. He even gave me a few toys that he thought I would like. Like the Gloomy Pink Bunny plushie and a Castellappy from Poteusa Loppy. They are both brought from an Anime Convention and their origins are Japanese. I love both plushies.

Me and my (Castellappy) poteusa loppy plushie

Me and my huge (Castellappy) poteusa loppy plushie 

Kei attended a anime con (before we got married) and gave me a Daenerys Targaryen funko pop keychain, and got himself a Jon Snow one. They were cute and we are huge fans of Game of Thrones. I appreciated the keychain. More so, because of Kei’s reason for buying a keychain and not a full sized funko pop, he said he wanted to get toys but he thought that it’s better to appropriate most of his funds for our upcoming wedding (back then). I thought of it as our his and hers keychain.

we have these!

we have these! -Now, if only I can find a Full sized wedding dress Daenerys.  

Fast forward to present, we do not have toys at home. Our house looks pretty basic.

But that is about to change. A few Sundays ago, we went out for a stroll in Greenhills and I chanced upon a Funko Pop figure that I wanted to get for Kei. *I have plans for the funko pop as Kei’s cake topper… shhh dont tell Kei.* It’s a Game of Thrones – Jon Snow. We are both fans of Game of Thrones and that is Kei’s favorite character in GOT. So, I thought I will buy it right before we get home so we would not have to carry it the whole day. WRONG! Newbie mistake.

The time I went to buy the toy, it was already brought by someone else! I was surprised and I went to look for it on other stores. Apparently, It is pretty rare as it was released quite a while already-its usually sold out on the stores we asked from and they did not know if they are going to get more. Its kind of understandable that the price of this certain pop has gone up than the common Funkos. Arrrrgggghh! I know I had to find it and buy it.

So while going around looking for Jon Snow, I chanced upon a pre-order of Daenerys Targaryen and Drogon. I quickly signed up for it. Daenerys is my favorite character from GOT. Since I can’t find the wedding dress Daenerys that was another rare toy, I thought I go grab a pre-order one instead. Plus it has a badass dragon! This pop is pricier and understandably so, since it is bigger and a two in one kind of pop.  So I ordered one. –Flying in by mid July.

Looking pretty badass! Daenerys Targaryen and Drogon

Looking pretty badass! Daenerys Targaryen and Drogon * while I cant find the Daenerys in white dress funko, this is a good alternative. * 

So we patiently asked around all the toy stores in the vicinity till we finally found and bought the Jon Snow pop. It was the last piece left on the store we brought it from. 

This is the Jon Snow I like... the one with the cape and sword. Lord Commander.

This is the Jon Snow I like… the one with the cape and sword. Lord Commander Jon Snow. I dislike the newer castle black version and the exclusive one with blood on the face, even if those are more expensive.

I like my Jon Snow with a cape. Looks more majestic IMHO.

We actually got it for a cheaper price that the first Jon Snow I found. To clarify, it was the same Jon Snow. Hooray!!!

Once I got home I googled other Game of Thrones toys and holy smokes! I am in love with a toy chair. The Iron Throne Funko Pop, only problem was, it was a New York Comic Con exclusive and I am from the other side of the world. Max fail. 

*please play Adelle’s hello from the other side song here*

I quickly asked Kei and He managed to find a seller. Right that day we called the seller and asked him to put the Iron Throne on hold, we are getting it by the weekend. We tried to haggle but its price is fixed. This one is even more expensive than the Daenerys and Drogon Pop. But still I wanted the Iron Throne so we can sit Jon Snow in it. Shallow reason but we really dig it. So we went to meet the seller – they are a couple too!, who then became our friends (We chatted for quite a while! I was actually blown away by how nice geeks are to other geeks and how we could talk like we have known them for a long time now. And I mean than in the most respectful kind of way. Seriously, Geeks rule!) and that was the story on how we got to take home the  iron throne.

they are all fighting for this seat

All mine. The seat they are all fighting for! Hahahaha!

Finally I have them both! I excitedly posted a snap on fb. Then went on to join the Funko Funatic Philippines, I sure am a fledgling geek.

my first two funko pops.

my first two funko pops.

And so I proceed with my plan to seat Jon Snow in the iron throne…

looking chill Lord Commander.

looking chill Lord Commander.

In my excitement, I opened up the toys and proceeded to play with the toys and posted a snap on fb. A few minutes later, I got a message from my cousin Jackie from USA. Apparently she collects Funkos too!

And she has a stash with a lot of exclusives that most collectors would envy. 

More than Funkos, she also collected Dorbs and Tsum tsums as well as Legos. It was diverse and all cute as hell!

She asked me that if we are looking for a certain pop that is hard to find in the Philippines, she can help us look for it from the states. I was so excited! She can order from all those web sites that I only hear about when I watch Youtube reviews. *play the hello from the other side song again*

I really don’t have anything GOT related in mind as the one I really wanted (GOT Daenerys Targaryen wedding dress) is already vaulted- it is also very much overpriced.  I wouldnt want to bother my cousin too much. So, I opted to ask for a Loki. *Kei has a bobblehead Thor that was given to him a long time ago, I thought we could get Loki so Thor wouldn’t feel so alone.*

what I asked for: Loki so that our Thor would have a companion

what I asked for: Loki so that our Thor would have a companion

Then my cousin showed me a exclusive Iron man unmasked bobble head and I went WOW. I have a soft spot for Iron man. After a few more messages sent back and forth, She is ordering another Iron man (like the one she has) for me. I was jumping up and down like mad.

I envied my cousin because she had this Ironman pop. She is getting me one too! Squee!

I envied my cousin because she had this Ironman pop. Now, she is getting me one too! Squee!

Didn’t know that I would have this kind of strong feelings toward toy/s. Kei was pleasantly surprised. So begins my own collection of toys. Planning on GOT and Avengers that Kei and I are quite fond of.

I sort of get it (toy collecting) now.

You get a toy, and you get more toys so your (original) toy wont be sad. My toys are now happy and only my wallet is sad. 

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

