life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

sigh, Philippines only

4 Comments

Sometimes, I have only one explanation for the sad incidents in life… I live in the Philippines.

Like collecting toys. -because this is our current thing. *We are back at Greenhills yesterday. Going on a toy hunt.* And because its the GOT season finale, I will be all GOT themed today. But not to worry, I wont spoil anything. I will be using the #battleofthebastards episode to illustrate.  

please explain why?

please explain why?

I wanted to get more Game of Thrones Funko Pops, but it looks like we are not meant to be. *sobs* 

Couldn’t bring myself to buy it because of the price. I believe its unreasonable.

See the huge Difference? Sure, I get the Samuel Tarly price: $9.99 I round it off to $10 then convert it to peso lets say x55 (a dollar is around close to 50php I just added a bit extra) plus some 40php for taxes and upkeep and profit for the shop. I see that the 595php price is reasonable.

But the Brienne price: Oh wow. they sure jacked up that one.

I even looked it up on www.poppriceguide.com and it currently stands at 12usd (as of 06-27-16) so if that is the case 12usd to php is 564.59. But lets just use the x55 conversion ok? so 12×55 = 660 then add some 40php (for taxes and upkeep and profit for the shop, like what we did with Samuel-that would have to be at 700php. But they sell if for 750php.  If only I can directly buy from the US. *sigh*

Just not our day for toy hunting.

Sad but that’s it. So, after looking around for toys we need to go home. 

That got me thinking about commuting – in other countries commuting is relatively easy compared to the Philippines. Here we have #gameoftrains.

All photos are not mine, just got them from the internet.

Queuing for a train ticket can take you anywhere from 15 mins to 1-2 hours. Then you still have to wait at the platform. 

this is a daily occurrence -having stored value/beep card = express lane.

this is a daily occurrence -having stored value/beep card = express lane.

You get to ride the train with a lot of other passengers and squeeze yourself in.

when the door of the train is closing

the situation when the door of the train is closing and the train is so full you have to squeeze yourself in amidst all the pushing/shoving people

You get mashed up into a human pile that it maybe possible that one day you get to swap faces with other commuters. #truth

human sardine

human sardine

It really does feel like that. But we also have a separate train for female passengers. So travel on your own and see you at the station ok? *the female train is no better than the other trains. Its still crowded as hell inside, only bonus for a female is that you are all females so no groping issues. 

Translation: Brother, I will go ride on the train for females. Let's just meet up at the station. Punyeta (offensive) = go to hell

Translation: Brother, I will go ride on the train for females. Let’s just meet up at the station. Punyeta (offensive) = go to hell

This is a accurate depiction of commuting in the philippines. #thestruggleisreal

starting the journey fresh and alighting the train looking like hell

starting the journey fresh and alighting the train looking like hell

And of course. Keep your eyes peeled for the hold-up-pers. There sure are a lot of them here in the Philippines. And the police/government cant do anything to stop these crimes happening daily.

beware of those wielding sharp pointed objects.

beware of those wielding sharp pointed objects and concealing their faces = its a trap! 

Its every one for themselves.

you have to be brave to venture outside

you have to be brave to venture outside

Don’t say we didn’t warn you.

There is also the jeep, bus and riding the FX or shuttle, but even that does not exempt you from the perils above. You will not have to fall in line and wait at the platform.-hooray! But you will be crammed along with a lot of passengers that you are half sitting-half squatting, sweaty and cramped for space. Subjected to traffic and the occasional thieves and  holdup-ers. Again the police/government cant do anything to stop these crimes happening daily.

Add the meager salary for all the professionals, poor healthcare, poor education, all the corruption issues… etc. Its a perfect setting for a mission impossible living conditions. 

burn all the injustice

burn all the injustice

I could go on and on about how sad it is to live in the Philippines but, its the hand I was dealt with. *Sigh* No wonder a lot of Filipinos choose to migrate to other countries.

Its more fun in the Philippines.  

 

*All my reviews, opinions, and other stuff expressed here are my own and based on my own experience.

 

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

4 thoughts on “sigh, Philippines only

  1. For the Funko Pop thing, sadly it’s a reality of life. I’ve seen how some figures are marked up pretty high – especially during anime and toy conventions (bring a former cosplayer myself). 😦

  2. Kaloka lang. Na-discourage lang ako to go collecting GOT pops, I will shift to other more “common” na lang.

Leave a Reply

