life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

lost and found

Leave a comment

I now own two umbrellas.

my umbrellas

my umbrellas- on top -the original umbrella, bottom -the new one

That seems to be weird for me, because for the longest time it has always been one umbrella for one little me. I use things until they decide to give up on me (broken). I also develop attachment to things and that sort of “relationship” makes me take good care of my things.

2 years ago.  I came home with my umbrella broken after a fight with strong wind/s of a typhoon, seeing that I have nothing to use the next day my (younger) sister Nicole gave me one of hers. –Unlike me, Nicole sort of collects umbrellas. And owns three or more. It is still in pristine condition that I do not think of it as a hand-me-down but rather as a gift.

The one she gave me is a automatic collapsible umbrella in navy blue with a purple trim. I was thankful for the gift and has grown rather fond of the umbrella for its ease of use and because it is compact and lightweight. Sturdy too!  It has been with me through every rain and the intense heat I encountered on the way. It has been with me through the heavy rains and manages to get me home somewhat dry.

Each time I use the umbrella, I feel grateful for my sister. Obviously, I have a strong sense of attachment to that umbrella.

Till it went missing for (2) weeks. I realized it was missing when there was a drizzle and I tried to look for the umbrella in my bag. No umbrella to be found. I waited for the rain to pass and thought I must have left it at home. Once I got home, I frantically searched for the umbrella but it is nowhere to be found.

It was sad. And because it is the monsoon season, rains are unavoidable. I know I have to find the umbrella or buy a new one. I just braved the rains and still thought the umbrella would magically show up one day at home. Meanwhile, I used a huge golf umbrella as a temporary umbrella. I also came clean and told my sister I lost the umbrella she gave me. I am resigned to the fact that I really have to replace the lost umbrella.

Over the weekend with my sister in tow, I brought a new umbrella (the second umbrella). It was bigger than the first umbrella, much heavier but with the same function. It was lavander with silver trim. While I loved the new umbrella, I still compare it to the original umbrella that I lost.

It has encountered light rains but I didn’t get the chance to use it yet. –My personal take was if it’s just a light rain, why would I bother? It’s just water anyway.

Yesterday, I got a message from Kei. Telling me that the umbrella I lost was going home. I was puzzled. After all, it has been a while. As soon as Kei got home he gave me back the umbrella. Turns out I had forgotten to bring back my umbrella and it was left at our friend’s house. The time they were looking for it, it was mistakenly used as their own by one of their nannies. That made us think that we lost it. But they realized that it was ours and sent it back.

So, I got my beloved umbrella back! -And now I have two umbrellas.

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

