life of a cuddlebit

my random ramblings

filipino friday 2013 (3): The Pinoy Book Drop

1 Comment

The third part to my Filipino Fridays post is a week late. Like really late-late.

 

I was actually looking for Jerry Spinelli’s  Stargirl for my bookdrop.

But the timing clashed with planning Kei’s birthday last Saturday *that failed miserably*.

Stargirl book photo from the internet

Stargirl book photo from the internet

I wanted to give it because I liked that book. I thought the one who gets it would like it too.  I have it as an e-book.

 

Went to look for a copy of the said book at the mall near our office. They have two bookstores there. Booksale and National Bookstore. Rummaged though the piles in Booksale, no luck. So, I headed to National hoping to find the book there. Still nothing.  So, The answer to the question Did you participate in the Pinoy Book Drop? is a sad NO.

 

So,  these are the questions I have to answer. 

– Tell us about your most memorable or favorite book hunting experience.

Normally, when looking for books I just go for the one/s that catches my attention and look at the back of the book for a teaser of the story. If I like it, I buy it. I don’t do book hunts, maybe save for the said experience in looking for Stargirl. (*where I am really looking for a specific book* So, this was a memorable one as this was my first?)

 

 Have you ever found a book in a most unexpected place?

I found one at my dad’s toolbox. while it is not unusual to find a book at a toolbox, the subject of the book makes it unusual. It is a beginner’s guide to swimming book.

Expected books would be manuals or books about how to repair something… but that one. A swimming book in a toolbox, I don’t see the connection. *I took the book back to him and he kept it on his drawer. He said he was looking for it, a misplaced book. 

 

If you find a dropped book somewhere, what would you do with it? 

*Grins* Definitely take it home to read. then if I like it, it would be staying on my shelf, if not… maybe it will be given to an orphanage come Christmas time.

 

Where do you get your books nowadays? Do you still go to bookstores, or do you buy/order books online?

Both are fine with me. I still go to bookstores  and look for books there. But, e- books from the internet are my main source of reading materials. I love the printed books but I hate it when they get old and turn yellow/torn pages…and when my mother decides that the “old” books be sold in one of the book stands in Recto. So, to save myself the stress, storage issues and heartbreak over the books, I go for the e-books from the internet.

 

“Why fit in when you’re born to stand out?” ― Jerry Spinelli, Stargirl

Author: Pammy

I'm a graphic artist and a dreamer. I write to release my thoughts, just to tell about it. I love eating, shopping, my pet rabbits, making people laugh, and being with my family and friends.

One thought on “filipino friday 2013 (3): The Pinoy Book Drop

  1. Pingback: Filipino Friday 2013 #3: The Pinoy Book Drop Round-up | Filipino ReaderCon

Leave a comment